Log in


Huntsville Grotto of the National Speleological Society

What is the JV Award?

16 Aug 2022 4:46 PM | David Michal (Administrator)

The award was conceived by the Huntsville Grotto in honor of long-time member, conservationist, cave steward, and SCCI Director John Van Swearingen IV, who passed away in 2001. JV served for many years as the Fern Cave Access Coordinator, providing stewardship of the Fern Cave system and preserve for both the US Fish and Wildlife Service and the Southeastern Cave Conservancy.

The purpose of the award is to meaningfully recognize the successful stewardship efforts of an individual, a group of individuals, or an organization that has provided significant stewardship activities for one or more caves, cave preserves, or karst properties, personally conducted over an extended time period. The award, sponsored by the Huntsville Grotto and the SCCI, is also intended to promote long-term cave conservation and stewardship activities and to encourage and thank those individuals and organizations who perform them.

The award consists of a one-of-a-kind certificate, with one of JV's artistic photographic images in the background, and an honorarium in the form of a donation in the award amount of $250 or more made to the SCCI in the name of the award recipient.

Past Awardees

2022  TBD
2021  No awardee
2020  No awardee
2019  Steve Davis  Bryant  AL
2018  Annette Reynolds  Vestavia  AL
2017  Andy Zellner  Bridgeport  AL
2016  No awardee
2015  Mark Ostrander  Madison  AL
2014  Steve Hudson  La Fayette  GA
2013  Chuck Henson  Rossville  GA
2012  Nathan Williams  Huntsville  AL
2011  SERA Karst Task Force (SKTF)  TAG Region
2010  Tom Moltz  Bryon  GA
2009  Jay Clark  Birmingham  AL
2008  Buddy Lane  Signal Mountain  TN
2007  Bill Overton  Pegram  TN
2006  Bill Birdsall  Ocala  FL
2005  Steve Pitts  Ardmore  TN
2004  Lonnie Carr  Sparta  TN
2003  Bruce Brewer  Tallahassee  FL
2002  William Oldacre  Gainesville  FL 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software